For quite some time, I’ve had an idea for a Superman arc. It would be ten issues long and involve Superman fighting such rogues as Bizarro, Intergang, Bloodsport, Hank Henshaw, and a few others.

There would be a new occupant of LexCorp Tower, a mysterious figure with a grudge against Superman. His company would have grown rapidly in short span of time. With no one ever having interviewed him, Perry White would send Clark to get the exclusive. And then all kinds of crazy things would happen, the most notable (and earliest) would be it snowing in Metropolis in the middle of July.

The main idea is that this mysterious figure wants to run Superman into the ground, with as many threats as he can release, all while the sun is blocked. The real treats are the clues left for the figure’s origin and Superman fighting in a modified Steel suit.

Unfortunately, due to recent events, the story has changed a bit. Superboy clearly can’t be in the story any more. I don’t know if I can use Natasha (Steel II). That would depend on how she finishes 52. The use of John Henry would depend upon the same. Supergirl wasn’t around when I wrote it, so I might have to explain why she doesn’t show, as I wouldn’t want to use her. (Maybe not.) I’d have to change the dialogue for Bizarro or provide an explanation of his reverting back to backwards-speak. I’m not sure what the state of the hero community is (in regards to whether certain characters would work together), so that might cause a slight change.

The main problem I’ve had is that I want to use Dan Turpin, but his departure from SCU was never explained and I haven’t seen him in years. Also, my initial story had a plot point I never explained adequately. A big problem I thought about later on would be that I didn’t include enough with Lois. I find that her relationship with Supes shouldn’t be excluded from a story that affects him as it does.

I don’t want to give away too many details of the story, so that it can maintain as much of its value as I’d like, despite the fact that it will probably never be made.

In any case, that’s what I’d do if I were writing Superman.

