I may not browse the Internet looking for comic book reviews, but of those I have seen, none review my favorite comic of last week. (Look to the title for more information.) So, as I stated in my last entry, I though I would provide one.

There are two important pieces of information I feel I should get out of the way now. First off, there is a summary of the events of the first two issues printed on the back of the cover (like a book inset, if you will–which in itself is somewhat amusing given that the story relates to a book series of the same name). The summary only fails to comment on one story element, but I’ll get to that in a bit. Secondly, this is a limited series. A five-part series, to be precise. This is part three and I think you could just jump in here. Even if you feel a bit confused or want the whole story, though, there are only two other comics previous to this one that you would have to pick up.

Now, onto what makes this comic great. Namely, this is a dramatic story wrapped with mystery that has fun with itself. It’s written by Peter David. You know to expect good stuff. The first half of the issue or so is filled with things that made me laugh. The ending, and you may want to be paying attention when you get there to fully appreciate it, offers a twist that implies a bit more about what is happening. I like this issue mostly because it has fun with itself. David offers a serious situation (an important ship being stolen and subsequently being used to cause trouble) involving a variety of characters (this is Star Trek) and injecting does of humor and mystery to keep readers entertained.

As a bonus, the art is superb, capturing realistic perspective with a tone that suits the story. Perhaps the art being as serious as the main story helps the lighthearted sequences that much more.

You’ll recall that I mentioned that there is a sequence within the issue that is not explained in the beginning summary. Part of the story takes place on a planet where it has recently been revealed that the queen is pregnant. That story, as of yet, seems to have nothing to do with the space adventure and, I think, may be more understandable by those who have read the book series (just as there are a few elements in the first two issues that are the same).

This is by no means a perfect comic. As stated, it does a little bit of nodding to the book series in a way that may confuse new readers. Of the three in the series so far, however, this one is the most self-contained and easily accessible–plus, most of the characters are referred to by name at least once, which is nice. And you get fun (and funny) moments like this:

I give Star Trek: New Frontier #3 a 4 out of 5.

